My Yoga Journey : Part 2

 

As three weeks approached of turning up to class six days a week, the tears had started to subside and my breath slowed.  During this time, I introduced myself to journaling, attempting to meditate and just be, wherever on the island I was at the time.

The often talked about ‘yoga high’ had started to creep in and I was actually starting to unwind and look forward to classes.  Can’t say that I was sprinting to each and every one, but they were definitely more bearable and my smile was starting to return.

skywalker-jpg

Being silly after a yoga class – yoga high?

After another two weeks, I was well on my way to healing and had the space to plan my next move.  Not only that, my body had granted me permission to endure my very first crow pose.

crow2-jpg

Not as elegant as what you see in a Yoga magazine and by some other bloggers, but nonetheless, I was happy with my progress.

Upon returning to Australia, I had made the decision to leave that relationship and the space that I was residing in, as neither was serving a purpose anymore.

I relocated to another property, got settled and had gingerly started to date again.  It didn’t take long for me to meet a wonderful man who was happy to take things slowly.

Back home and back at work, things had now started to settle down.  I tried a couple of times to head to classes and get back in the swing of things, but life on the island was much simpler than my ‘real’ life.

My island routine:-

  • Get up
  • Yoga
  • Breakfast / brunch
  • Rest
  • Go for a ride / swim / be a tourist
  • Yoga
  • Dinner
  • Massage
  • Rest / Journal / Meditate

This was pretty much it on the repeat cycle for five weeks.  Simplistic, easy, no stress.

bike-jpgtanh-jpg

sunset-jpg

Upon my return, I had to contend with going back to work and sitting in an office, being back on call 24/7 and the never ending stream of the daily traffic commute, as well as all the domestic duties and cooking for myself again (oh how I missed a quick trip to the night markets for dinner).

nightmarkets-jpg

Getting to a class was becoming difficult and whilst I tried a couple of Youtube video’s at home, I was constantly getting distracted by my dog.  Soon it all became too hard and the mat was put away indefinitely.  Cue any excuse and insert here!

bailey-jpg

Stay tuned for Part 3.

Elise♥

 

Leave a Reply

