My Yoga Journey : Part 3

Fast forward to February 2017, three weeks ago to be precise and since departing Thailand in October of 2015, I think I have stepped on a yoga mat all of about six times.

I made excuses, that I didn’t like the studio, didn’t like the teachers. Or the class times just didn’t work for me. Didn’t matter what it was, I could find fault.

Clearly my mindfulness and positive spirit had departed my body somewhere in 2016.

As the 2017 new year approached and a few feelings of hopelessness, doubt, defeat and not feeling worthy crept in, I thought it best to change my tune.

My teacher friend from Thailand was back in Oz for a few days and made some time to catch up with me. During these conversations, I explained my situation and from her findings of both her life experiences and that of her students from around the world, I had lost myself, my vision, my passion and was again off course.

Her instructions were clear again, “return to the mat”, which I did that night and haven’t gotten off it since.

How I felt after just one class was amazing. I could hardly sleep that night as my energies had started to move and my passion for life had started to return.  In the past few weeks I have been more productive in my own personal life than I have been for the past year or so.

I can’t recommend enough that if you are having some difficulties in life or just need a pick me up or to perhaps just put yourself first, then give Yoga a try. There are a few different styles, ensure you try them all and stick to one that works for you.  Believe in yourself and let the magic happen.

yoga

Leave a Reply

